Rescue Remedy

I have spent the past 24 hours obsessed by “Rescue Remedy”, or, as it’s written in my most recent library conquest, “Rescue Remedy-TM”. It’s the reliable crutch which the author of Confessions of a Wedding Planner, turns to when she needs to survive yet another wedding.

Fine, but it’s another one of those trans-Atlantic things that passes me by. The repeated references served to awaken the part of my mind which logs incidents of product placement that I don’t understand (because obviously I need processing power reserved for that, instead of say, algebra).

It occurs to me that Rescue Remedy is a familiar friend in a range of women’s-interest light romance titles that I have indulged in. Our Heroine, in her off-beat and mildly stressful job must turn to her pill/tincture/salve (not entirely sure what form RR comes in) in order to carry her through the point in the story where job and man-related conflict come together, so that she can begin the quick slide to a happy ending. Since Our Heroine tends to address these situations with unflagging outward perkyness, her inner turmoil and worry known only to us navel-gazers, it occurs to me that perhaps RR contains some kind of exciting stimulant. Coca leaves, for example. Or ephedrine, or its slightly-easier to obtain franken-cousin psuedoephedrine.* I might have to get some Rescue Remedy for myself.

Unfortunately, I really can’t recall seeing it in a pharmaceutical section. Of course, the European over-the-counter shelf is a bewildering place, filled with strange medicines that I think might kill you if taken without consultation with a doctor, and yet only have guaifenisen, my only friend in allergy misery, in a bubblegum flavored liquid.

I would like Rescue Remedy to remain my own construct, and will continue to Not Google. It makes the occasional romance novel that much more fun. Better living through chemistry and all that.

Oh, and the book wasn’t too bad. Not very juicy, too many wedding “top tips”, but a good way to pass an hour and a half.

*Mucinex D is guaifenisen and pseudoephedrine. I have a small stash which my Thoroughly Modern Male has relentlessly pillaged. He’s now on rationing until I go back home to the States, where I will bring back as much as possible to last until my next once-a-year visit home without bringing so much that it looks like I’m planning a big ‘ole meth cook up. It will be amusing to see my suitcase, crammed full of deodorant, American medicines, and Old Bay/21 seasoning mix. It will be a party to remember.

About tara

Often heard to refrain "I left San Francisco for this?" Formerly homeschooled. Living the dirt-poor post-student expat life in various non-urban areas of England's North. Sanity preserved by cooking yummy foods for a multiple allergy diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

