Red Thai salmon curry disaster

I wanted something different for a mid-week dinner after work. I’m not a fan of fresh fish; I don’t like the texture and I didn’t grow up cooking or eating it on regular basis, though I love the taste. It seemed apropros that there were salmon fillets marked down in the Tesco Metro in town (a post on the magic “markdown shelf” is forthcoming. They waste quite a lot of food!).

With a recipe for Red Thai salmon curry in mind, I grabbed butternut squash and, fatefully, spinach. I had thought it would be a good green substitute for the allergy-inducing haricots. The end result was not as tasty as expected.

I made a few errors.

First, I decided to use all of the salmon in one go, and make enough curry to last me for most of the week. Because of my allergies, I am constantly pre-planning to ensure I have lunches for the week. However, I always make the mistake of cooking several days worth of leftovers with a new recipe and Murphy’s Law ensures that it’s pants. I also didn’t take the skin off the salmon. It wasn’t nice like it is when roasted or fried.

Second, something went wrong with the coconut milk. I diluted it with hot vegetable stock, and the fats separated! I don’t think this was my fault, but it wasn’t very nice right off the stove.

Third, and most important, I used spinach. Spinach was a terrible idea in this dish! It was too bitter and it ruined the balance of the rest of the dish.

I choked through this curry all last week, though it did taste much better the next day, after all the spinach was picked out. It was yummier cold, so made for a happy after-work dinner.

On a happier note, I made a quick pasta last night. Garlic, red chili flakes and anchovies sauteed in olive oil, and then poured over the pasta and all the leftover spinach tossed through. Even better for lunch today cold. Spinach and I are still buddies.

About tara

Often heard to refrain "I left San Francisco for this?" Formerly homeschooled. Living the dirt-poor post-student expat life in various non-urban areas of England's North. Sanity preserved by cooking yummy foods for a multiple allergy diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

