Bacon Avocado Pizza

AKA the best pizza in the universe. I’m not kidding when I say I can live on bacon and avocado pizza. In fact, in South Africa I do. It’s the single greatest combinations of flavours on a cheese-less pizza. Fat, creamy avo and bacon-y savoury saltiness and makes you forget you’re missing out on molten mozzarella.

That said, I couldn’t limit myself to yearly binges on pizza in Pretoria. Supermarket avocados are actually reasonably affordable right now, and I’ve dug quite a few out of the discount bin, which means pizza nights!

Obviously, it tastes different from pigging out on my no-cheese half from Roman’s, but making it at home definitely reduces the shame factor you get on your third day in a row in the pizzeria ordering the same thing and getting the same, puzzled “you don’t want cheese?” from the same clerk behind the counter. I’m a shameless American, but I have to say, the things my hubby puts up with because he loves me.

Never enough avocado...

I haven't mastered the art of the pizza stone, so my pizzas are square.

Bacon avocado pizza
(who am I kidding… serves 2)

Pizza dough: I used The Essential New York Times Cookbook’s Mark Bittman recipe. Bread flour, a long rise and actually followed the instructions to activate the yeast. Very tasty.

Pizza sauce: An ever-changing combination of finely diced onion, dried chili flakes and lots of garlic, red wine, tomato paste, diced tomatoes and oregano. Optional is bell pepper and smokey Spanish paprika.

Bacon: Use good bacon. None of the streaky American crap. We didn’t eat bacon growing up, so all I knew of it was it was straight, crunchy and fatty. This is not the case! Bacon should be actual meat, with a chewy piece of fat at the end. You should not be able to snap it in half and it shouldn’t just taste like salt. Cook the bacon and then slice it into small pieces.

Avocado: Ripe Hass avocados. Use at least one. Slice over the finished pizza, do not mash.

Assemble pizza. Dough, sauce, bacon. Optional cheese. Cook in oven at the highest temperature you can set. Remove and top with avocado before serving.

Not shown: pizza-anticipating crazy eyes.

Really, they weren't all for me.

About tara

Often heard to refrain "I left San Francisco for this?" Formerly homeschooled. Living the dirt-poor post-student expat life in various non-urban areas of England's North. Sanity preserved by cooking yummy foods for a multiple allergy diet.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

